My Place in Landscape : The Process

 My Place in Landscape

Part 2 :The Process

_MG_7439 web

 I sorted through photographs taken this year and chose 117 which were then reduced down to 62. To begin with, from those 62, I firstly chose one image of a tree and 6 self-portraits, firstly standing against the tree and then slowly moving forward. I then went through a process where I layered the first self-portrait against the tree at increasing opacities with the intention of creating a video or slideshow of myself emerging from a tree. Here are the images:

My original intention was to place these images within a video I had made. The problem was that, of course, the still images where at different aspect ratios from the video which meant they were cut-off. Instead I created just a slide-show YouTube video of me emerging from the tree which I embedded into my Introduction to Assignment 3 here . Feedback was positive on the whole but with a couple of comments that the star shape transitions were somewhat distracting. If I have the time I will work on this again and include in the final part of this Project.

I then continued with choosing the images I would use for a series. The 62 were reduced to 47 and then to 27 which were processed into Contact Sheets. One copy of each ready for my tutor and one that I cut into small images to use for the next selection process.

Here are the Contact Sheets:

 

I’ve recently had some very interesting and helpful contact with photographer C.Y. Frankel (will write more about this in another post) and he suggested using a magnetic board for selections.

IMG_1420 web

This has been suggested to me before and this time I took notice and it helped a lot because over the past two days I have kept moving images around, adding and subtracting. C.Y. also sent me a link to a Printspace article on ‘How to Edit Your Work’ that he thought might be useful albeit a little basic. It was very useful because, again, it reminded me of lots I’d learned along the way and absorbed but not assimilated.

  • Be clear and concise about the concept.
  • Try to be neutral and choose the best not just your favourites.
  • Have consistency (colour, shape) v are they too similar v make sure there’s diversity!
  • It’s about quality not quantity.
  • If unsure, pair images that work well together and go from there
  • Get in touch with photographers who you admire and ask them for advice

I think that, in the end, it depends and sometimes you have to go with what appeal to yourself, having taken account of all advice given. I’m writing this because I constantly observe how different viewers see different aspects of images. There’s also the question of presentation format. I took images in portrait as well as landscape format and also close-up detail, but these hardly appear in my later selections. If I decide to do a book then they can appear in differing sizes and I would also use more of the images. Not to mention others that I would feel impelled to go and re-take/re-make. For the time being I concentrated on images that seemed to fit together to form a narrative. The assignment brief doesn’t refer to number of images this time. I checked this with my tutor who confirmed that the number of images is down to me.

Here are the potential ones I’ve chosen but I am going to give myself another couple of days before I make a final selection.

 

31st August, 2015

 

9 thoughts on “My Place in Landscape : The Process

  1. Interesting! The set you have reminds me of the “The Pond” ‘s narrative flow. From a place clearly on the edge of habitation, into a wilder place – less constructed place – and then led back to (another) inhabited place. The Pond also has, taking Pete’s comment into consideration a definite pathway that leads in and then leads out….
    Looking forward to the Frankel post, which I assume will have a lot on the subject of narrative.

    Like

  2. Hi Catherine
    I’ve been reading your blog slowly since yesterday and think I’ve now caught up and please correct me if I make any comments that have missed your ideas.

    I’m fascinated by your exploration of self within the landscape which has been very well researched. I like your experimentation with the video and agree with others that the transitions didn’t work – however, what does come over is your idea of embodiment within the landscape.

    This is where I think it gets interesting. You picked up on the theme of psychogeographers and then choose not to follow further due to your interest being in the photography – but my take on this is that through an embodied practice, you are creating photography – hence your relationship to the landscape and the importance of your dogs within it. It is the process of an embodied walk that seems to be the key here. Psychogeography is one methodology, but there are others which I think are perhaps more interesting. Although she doesn’t talk about photography, from a perspective of embodiment through the landscape, Rebecca Solnit’s Wanderlust is fantastic and a book I refer to frequently. There are other books too which if you want to follow up at a later stage I would be happy to share. I like your sequencing of photos and can see your relationship to the landscape! You have a very interesting project happening here so well done!

    Do feel free to reject my ideas – this is your project! 😉

    Like

    • Thanks for your comprehensive feedback Gill. I hadn’t met the term ’embodied practice’ before – or at least if I had I skimmed over it. I have a couple of Solent’s books though not ‘Wanderlust’ which should arrive today. In the meantime, I’ve looked on the internet and re-read the recent book edited by Tina Richardson.
      The sense I’m making of embodied practice at the moment is that it’s more of a phenomenological approach, taking account of how we are constantly re-configuring/being re-configured in our relationship to our environment. Please correct me if I’m wrong though and I’m certainly very interested to know more about this. I’ll contact you through your website .

      Like

  3. This landscape is part of your psyche, the two are inseparable , that’s how I perceive these images and what I feel I know about you as a person. I think the magnetic board is a great idea too .

    Like

  4. Pingback: Revisiting Assignment 3 | Context and Narrative

Leave a Reply

